Wardrobe Needs Checklist Intro

Going into the new year, I wanted to make it crystal clear what I need to update/replace/add to my wardrobe. I wanted everything in one central repository for quick and easy reference. And then I thought, why not share that with all of you?!

Wardrobe Checklist Intro

First, I needed to be super honest about what was needed. So I started with a closet cleaning. I go in cycles of being super willing to part with items and then not so willing. I tend to keep things because oh I might wear that, but then it’s still there the next cleaning go-around.

This closet cleaning also went to shoes and accessories. I was ecstatic to throw out my entire summer sandal collection. They’ve been around for at least two to three seasons and I knew at the end of last summer a huge replacement project would be in order this year.

My jewelry collection is definitely something that needs a makeover as well. Because I’m not inspired by what I have anymore, I tend to wear no jewelry at all. The days I do wear anything, I reach for the same four to five pairs of stud earrings and three gold necklaces. So I cleaned out all my old costume jewelry and sent most of it to ThredUp to sell. The really worn pieces, like those that had turned green, I threw away.

I used to work at Coach and have a few bags I haven’t parted with yet. I would like to sell them, but some of have minor condition issues that would maybe turn people off from buying altogether or would fetch a selling price too low for me to accept. But at this point, if I’m not using them, does it matter how much money I make off them? I may look into donating them to a women’s charity, but I’m still on the fence.

Then, it was time to build the list. If you decide to do this for yourself, I encourage you to be both specific and vague, depending on your needs.

For example, I had a pair of black pumps on my needs list for years. And I would look and look and never find something I liked. So instead of just black pumps, I should have put black suede pointy toe shoe with at least a three and a half-inch stiletto heel. That would have made life so much easier. But it also took me a while of general looking to figure out exactly what I wanted.

Also, don’t be afraid to add or remove items as your whims and trends change. It’s perfectly fine to add a trend item above a basic if it’s something you really love and fits into your wardrobe and life.

So here goes my complete wardrobe need list.

Apparel:

  • camel coat, button-up or zip, belted, knee-length
  • orange everything
  • black leather pants/leggings
  • dress pants in neutral colors, ankle-length
  • black suede motorcycle jacket
  • cashmere sweaters in neutral colors
  • black/white striped tees
  • silk-blend camisoles
  • black blazer, lightweight and oversized wool
  • blazers in general
  • grey skinny jeans
  • non-distressed blue skinny jeans

Shoes:

  • Hunter boots, olive green
  • black leather ankle boots, two to three-inch heel, pointy/almond/round toe. Fulfilled this need earlier this year with the purchase of these gorgeous Marc Fisher booties.
  • Black leather sneakers. Emphasis on LEATHER. I detest the knit sneakers that are everywhere now.
  • nude leather pumps, preferably Malone Soulier.

Accessories

  • simple, dainty pieces in white gold/silver or rose gold

Beauty

  • neck cream
  • Urban Decay Naked Reloaded, Cherry and Honey palettes

Leave a comment