February 2017 Buys…

IMG_1666

Hi, all! Welcome to the first in a new series on MAD About Style. Each month, I’ll be sharing what I purchased and if I got a sweet deal on it. Follow along to see what the cost per wear/use of each item works out to be!

First up: these Steve Madden Emotions over the knee boots. So I actually bought these from Nordstrom, aka work, in September. The boots are a little big at the thigh circumference, but not so much I need to pull them up. I got all up in my head about the gap and I returned them unworn. After Christmas, I was kicking myself for not keeping them. Lo and behold, I found them on Jildor Shoes for $20 less than I originally paid for them with my employee discount.

Steve Madden boots

IMG_1602

Retail Price: $99. Paid Price: $63.66.

The moment I saw these Steve Madden Kate loafers I thought, “Oh hey, Gucci dupe!” Seriously, these shoes look like the Gucci tassel loafers that are on trend and the price is not Gucci. While I was waiting for payday to hit, the black ones sold out in all but two sizes, neither of which were mine. On a hint from the third glass of wine I’d had one night, I went back and saw my size was back in stock. Currently, this style is sold out on Steve Madden’s website. I found various colors in limited sizing here, here, here, and here.

IMG_1646

Retail Price: $99.95. Purchase Price: $89.96.

Always remember to weatherproof your suede shoes. I love this Kiwi Shoe Polishes and Balms Super Protect-All spray. It smells a bit like diesel fuel, so make sure to spray it in a well-ventilated area.

I will be honest: I’ve worn these shoes four or five times at work and have only lasted a few hours each time. The left shoe just kills me right at my big toe/bunion (ugh I hate typing that word!) I hate it just as much as the fact I have a bunion. Whatever, it won’t stop me from wearing and breaking in shoes I love.

This American Eagle Outfitters velvet bomber jacket…le sigh. The color said grey and when I opened the package, it came across as more light blue in the lighting of my apartment. Thankfully, once it saw the real light of day, it turned into the grey color I wanted.

IMG_1616

IMG_1621

This is my “Why am I wearing only an eyelet tee and velvet bomber jacket when it’s 40 degrees in March?” face.

IMG_1627

Retail Price: $59.95. Purchase Price: $59.95 (this is rare, paying full price without a coupon and/or discount code.)

As the mostly snow-free winter persisted here in Chicago, I desperately wanted a new winter coat. My current one from The Limited has a huge hole in the lining. I wasn’t sure if getting it fixed was worth it when I’ve had it for five or six years, meaning I’ve definitely hit a good cost per wear.

I knew I was looking for something in the camel/tan/oatmeal color palette. This Calvin Klein belted cape coat made me gasp out loud when I saw it. Winter coat buying is always a challenge for me because I refuse to buy anything in the puffer family. I demand something both warm and stylish, preferably belted. This ticked off all my boxes…

IMG_1632

IMG_1641

Screenshot_20170217-232044

When you’re so excited about the deal, you take a screenshot to preserve for all time.

Retail Price: $250. Purchase Price: $39.98.

Similar here.

And then I saw this Trina Turk coat. Damn it…just when I thought I wasn’t a person who believed in owning multiple winter coats. But how can you go wrong with a classic grey wool wrap coat? You can’t, hence why it’s in my closet and on my person. The only drawback is the low cut of the neckline, which now demands I find a blanket scarf. Which begs the question how do I not already own a blanket scarf?

IMG_1655

IMG_1676

Screenshot_20170217-232050

Retail Price: $460. Purchase Price: $110.40.

Similar ones here, here and here.

For beauty buys, I was coerced into buying Clinique’s Take the Day Off Makeup Remover for Lids, Lashes & Lips $19. Actually, it didn’t take much coercion besides my Clinique consultant and friend, Erin, saying if I bought one more item, I got a gift. Insert the monkey covering its eyes emoji here.

Also, if you look really closely, you can see the cotton swap I accidentally dropped inside and couldn’t fish out…

20170401_204241

 

Which leads me to the most exciting buy from February: Clinique’s new Fresh Pressed Daily Booster with Pure Vitamin C $19.50. As soon as I saw this product during a demonstration, I knew I had to try it. The tube contains pure vitamin C powder that reacts with an emulsion when crushed with the top button. Shake for 15 seconds before each use and add two drops to whichever moisturizer you choose. I used this day and night starting on a Sunday evening and by Wednesday afternoon, I had multiple people commenting how much brighter my skin looked. After three freaking days! Seriously, buy it and buy it now!

I switched to the L’Oreal Paris Advanced Haircare Extraordinary Oil Nourishing Shampoo and Conditioner a few months ago and have been pretty happy with the results. So when it came time to replace my styling products, I thought why not make this a four-part party? I picked up the Transforming Oil-in-Cream to use as a leave in treatment prior to blow drying and the Lustrous Oil Serum to use after for shine and frizz-fighting. Holy $%#@ my hair has NEVER felt as soft as it has when using the combination of this system. I’m not usually a use-the-whole-line person, but if it works like this, I’m in.

20170401_204203

Continuing on the hair thread, I picked up a bottle of Herbal Essences Bio-Renew Revitalize Cucumber and Green Tea Dry Shampoo also. I usually go for the Naked Dry Shampoo, but Target was sold out. I’m not sure how I feel about this one. It absorbs grease at the roots great but leaves my mid-length and ends feeling dry when brushed through.

20170401_204053

I can’t wait to share how these pieces are styled into the spring and how long these beauty products last!

Leave a Reply

