MAD Outfit: Palm Fronds

Welcome to a rebooted MAD About Style!

The idea behind this project has also changed over the last year. As a means of understanding how and why I allocate money to clothes, and in an attempt to truly show the value of my wardrobe, I’ll be listing the retail and purchase price of each item, along with the approximate number of times I’ve worn it. A price will be broken down to show the ever elusive cost per wear. If an item is something I’ve had forever, or if I just misplaced a receipt, the entire equation may not be listed. Yes there’s math involved and for once, I’m ecstatic about math!

My cousin Jenny has agreed to be my photographer for MAD About Style and I couldn’t be happier! It’s a chance to spend time with her and her family while working on something I’m so excited about…win win! We met at a local park and I choose this maxi dress for one last spin before retiring it until next spring.

Denim Jacket-American Eagle. Retail Price: $49.50. Purchase Price: $42.07. Times Worn: 15. Cost Per Wear: $2.80.

Dress with Belt Included-Christopher Straub for Maurices.

Wedges-Coach. Retail Price: $218. Purchase Price: $109. Times Worn: 10. Cost Per Wear: $10.90.

Sunglasses-Coach. Purchased with employee discount a few years ago. Times Worn: probably 100+.

Leather Bracelet-American Eagle. Retail Price: $15.50. Purchase Price: $10.85. Times Worn: 5. Cost Per Wear: $2.17.

Ring-LC Lauren Conrad (Kohl’s). Retail Price: $16.00. Purchase Price: $8.80. Times Worn: 4. Cost Per Wear: $$2.20.

Necklace-Grandma’s gold chain with baby ring. Priceless.

Leave a Reply

