More Professional Dress MADness

I was helping out at a conference a few months ago and saw a woman carrying an Astro Boy messenger bag as her professional bag. Now this seems to be a new trend…or something. Recently I’ve seen a lot of adults with childhood accessories or clothes. I saw many Fozzie Bear hats this winter. I personally feel like at some point the childhood wares should be put away. If you can’t bear to part with your Cabbage Patch Kid or My Buddy, fine. Keep it in your old toy box at your parent’s house or stashed away in your house/apartment. I still have my first baby doll Katie because she’s a part of my history, part of the road I took to becoming who I am today. But I don’t play with her or change her into clothes to match mine like I did when I was five.

This goes for the men too: no cartoon ties!

And especially at a professionally hosted conference, leave the Astro Boy bag at home and opt for a leather or canvas bag instead. I’ve seen great ones at Target even. You can bring your quirky personality through in other ways, with say a great piece of jewelry or funky prints.

3 comments

  1. Thank you for this post! It drives me nuts to see what our generation thinks if “business casual.”; Last week there was a girl wearing a tube top paisley maxi dress. Hellllo, this is a PR agency NOT a Dave Matthews Band concert. Like it or not, we’re all starting a leg down because we’re young – people look down on that! In order to gain a bit more respect, let’s try dressing the part, hm?

    Great post!
    xoMeg

    1. Exactly! And I forgot to mention this was a woman in her late 30s to early 40s! She wasn’t even at an age where you could say Oh she’s just young and doesn’t know any better…Or whatever people say about people our age! Thanks for reading, commenting and tweeting! 🙂

      1. that’s even worse! I hate that – I feel that we only get one first impression and you should always be dressed appropriately in professional situations!

Leave a Reply

