MAD Asks…Why Do Women Wear Flip Flops Into the Office?

This is something I have been trying to figure out for some time now. Kind of like why do young professional women in Chicago insist on wearing North Face jackets as winter coats and then complain they’re cold? Because it’s 20 degrees below zero and you’re wearing what essentially qualifies as a windbreaker.

Now I cannot be sure when exactly the dress code policy kicks in when it comes to work. Does it start as soon as you enter the building? When you get to your desk and clock in? For me, I feel most able to start my work day when I’m completely dressed properly, down to my shoes. During the spring, summer and fall, I like to wear flats since I have to walk quite a ways from my apartment to the El station. Most of the time I change into heels once I arrive at work. And when I say change, I mean I pull them out of my bag or tote and put them on, not sorting through a pile of shoes at my desk, which I know a lot of women do. If you want to keep a pair or two stashed in a drawer, out of sight, I have no problem with that. But I worked with a supervisor who literally had about 10 pairs of shoes in plain sight under her desk. Not cool.

I personally feel it looks ridiculous to see a woman dressed in a nice jacket and pants or a dress with plain rubber Havianas or Old Navy flip flops. It takes just as much effort to slip into a cute pair of flats. They don’t even have to be the latest Tory Burch’s. It just looks more professional and put together, especially if you work in an environment that prohibits wearing open toed shoes.

How do you feel about this? Please share your thoughts!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

