Office Wear MADness: Leather Pants

I work in a business casual setting for a company that doesn’t have an official dress code policy on file.  But three times within the last three weeks, I have seen two different women in my department wearing an article of clothing I never thought I’d see in a corporate environment: leather pants.  Now to be clear, I am not opposed to leather pants in general.  If you have a booty like Rihanna or are a Harley-Davidson dude/chick, by all means go right ahead and knock yourself out.  Point being: leather pants are appropriate for certain aspects of your life…just not at work.  Today’s leather pants ensemble also consisted of a matching leather vest…with a button down dress shirt under it.  If I could have taken a picture without being completely obvious, trust me I would, because I’m sure some of you don’t believe it.  I didn’t when I saw it either.

I’m not a huge fan of the whole leather-looking leggings thing personally, but I have seen people pull it off and look great.  If you choose to put leather in the form of pants on your lower half, please have it be at the appropriate time (read: evening, unless you work in fashion and can get away with it during the day), and pair with a cute, blousy shirt in a bright color or print.  Add some killer heels, a clutch and some big hoop earrings, and work it!  But please, for the love of God, don’t wear them to work.  Unless you’re a cowboy…then yee-freaking-hot-haw! 🙂

Leave a Reply

